Alan Wake: The Lumber Yard

There is a book called “The Creator’s Dilemma” in the back of Alice’s car. Is it another thing worth looking at? There is the option to look at it…so perhaps. It appears that I am going to have a scary trek through the woods to reach the gas station. I know what to expect, but I ran through it pretty quickly the first time.

As you take the trail down the mountain, goodbye car!! It goes smashing down the cliff side.

Further down the path, a piece of the manuscript magically floats down in front of Alan. I’ve found all the manuscripts in Episode 1 except the pages found on Nightmare difficulty. There’s a glowing manuscript page close to the fence to the lumber yard. My first page on Nightmare! Woo! 😀

…of course it’s about Rose. The stupid girl from the coffee shop!

Just after a cut scene with Stucky, on the right hand side is another manuscript page!

Ah ha! Another coffee thermos is hiding behind a log near the logging machine on the left hand side. But you can’t go much further there…so to the right it is!

HOLY CRAP! … up till this point I thought doing it on Nightmare was a joke cause I didn’t die yet. The taken are finally a lot more difficult to kill. Even with headshots… it takes a few shots!

I found a chest with a flare gun and just found another one with batteries. I will have to use the weapons with more consideration because there are large swarms of Taken and a rifle doesn’t cut it.

Once you make it across the log bridge (which you create by moving a stack of logs), there is a little picnic area that has a stack of cans to shoot! (I’ve got 2 of them now!) Then head towards the light and in the little cabin is another radio to listen to (I’ve listened to 2 of those now too!!). There is another chest just behind the shack (on the left) and it has another flare gun in it! Apparently there is an achievement for finding all the chests.

I’ve noticed that the manuscript pages that I’ve already collected appear collected when I press the shift button to look at the pages. But I can still find them scattered all over the world. Interesting. They could be there to light the path so you know what direction to go to. The game is fairly dark and there isn’t a glowing trail or anything to show you where you have to go…except for light. Find the nearest glowing patch of light and run to it!

Leave a Reply

