dimes…

Karma Vixen was singing about Eminem and his band. I love playing with her! She is fantastic!!

…she knows about the dimes which is pretty sweet! I can’t believe that it has happened to someone else. So I will explain a bit of it here. If you end up thinking I’m more mental than you previously thought.. well, that’s okay!

I found my first dime a few months after my dad died. Since then I’ve been finding them sporadically throughout my daily adventures.

My mom told me that she was finding them. In places that were weird and unexpected dimes. Only dimes too. Never anything else. She would find a dime placed on the bathroom mat when she got out of the shower. There would be a dime on the ground beside her car when she stepped out. So naturally, I thought she was a bit nutters. I didn’t understand how there could be all these dimes laying around. And why would she connect it to my dad. Like, really… why would my dad be leaving dimes.

My sister-in-law said that she found one in the washing machine. Ok, not werid by itself… but then as she was pulling the clothes out, she found another one. She bent down to pick it up and *poof* all the lights in the house went off. The power was switched off just for a moment. That’s kinda freaky. Not easily explained but it happened.

Similar thing happened at my place. lll KiRa lll was worried about his health and so he had started going to the gym regularly and spent a huge amount of time worrying about his health. He was looking for his running jacket when he had almost given up and I told him to grab it out of the dryer. When he opened the door… out flew a dime. Yes it was chucked out of the dryer (which, by the way…wasn’t on). He picked up the dime and closed the dryer door then told me. I laughed and said that dad was saying “hi”. At that point I still thought my mom was mourning and using dimes as a way to find peace. So I asked lll KiRa lll if he found his jacket, he didn’t pull it out. So he went back to the dryer to pull it out and out comes a dime. Flew out at him. I had to believe it now. I had no choice. 2 dimes. Time to believe what mom was saying.

I went to the trusty internet and looked it up. “Dead leaving Dimes”. Google brought up some personal stories that people were sharing about their own experiences of finding dimes after someone close to them dies. The stories were unreal and so close to what we were all experiencing. I phoned my mom to tell her that other people were experiencing this too. Alright… so maybe a bit nutters but at least not alone and nuts!

I was sleeping in bed and lll KiRa lll was up playing games. I woke up because I felt something freezing on my leg. It was so cold that it actually woke me up. I reached own and pulled a dime off my leg. It was stuck on me! I passed it to lll KiRa lll and told him to put it aside for the morning. Of course it had to be a dime.

In March, Mom went on holiday with my aunt and a bunch of friends to Jamaica. I found a dime beside our car when lll KiRa lll was dropping me off at work and it turns out that was the day mom was leaving Ontario and flying out to Jamaica. She found a dime too. In the Ontario Airport. I had no idea as I didn’t talk to her until she got back from her trip. March 3, 2010

She returned to Ontario on a Thursday. I found a dime that day. When mom got back, she told me that she found a Canadian dime on her way home while waiting in the line at the Jamaican airport. What are the odds eh! March 11, 2010.

I was out at a beach with lll KiRa lll and I was telling him how much my dad would have liked it because it’s very natural and beautiful. A lake surrounded by mountains. We drove quite a far distance to get there. It was really stunning and we were walking around enjoying the isolation and peacefulness. I was looking down cause the beach was all rocky and what should be there but a 1978 tattered old dime! Made me smile.

I was at the store buying some mushy love stuff for lll KiRa lll and some scratch tickets just cause I felt like being a girl 😛 and I was paying with debit. As I picked up the bag and turned to walk out, I heard a tinker on the ground. I looked down… and of course, it was a dime. Too many dimes at this point for it to be a mere coincidence. I taped the dime on the back of my mushy card so lll KiRa lll knew dad was saying hi again while I was shopping!

I was at work and I put my bag over my head (it’s a shoulder bag) and I was grabbing my coffee mug when something landed on the ground. One of my co-workers picked it up and passed it to me. It was a dime. I don’t use cash. I never have it on me. Of course they knew about the dime story so they all thought it was very cool!

Its been a couple months since I’ve found a dime. Or any money for that matter. I don’t find money. I don’t usually look but I don’t find it. It’s just not there.

As many of my loyal readers (and friends) know… I recently went on a roadtrip to Oregon and on that trip I found not 1… but 2 dimes! I wrote about the first one, and finding it on our first stop across the border. The second one was at the most amazing time.

On our way home… we were trying to avoid a very VERY slow camper so we took a couple turns on a truck route to try and get in front of it. We ended up on a one way street and didn’t realize it until we were making a “dangerous left turn” cause Vicki (GPS) was yelling at us to turn. Mistakes happen but just our luck it happened as a cop was watching so we got a hefty $283 ticket. This was on our last day of traveling. It put quite a damper on our ultimately good adventure. This was the first ticket ever. Rather disappointing. But we tried to ignore it and just think of it as part of the costs of our trip. Hmm.. that didn’t work too well. We drove for a couple hours then I was starving and really needed a coffee and trip to the bathroom, so we pulled over in some weird little hick town. There was a subway there. Perfect! First I went to one of those expresso huts to get a drink. While waiting for the girl to make it, I turned around and there on the ground in front of me… sparkling, and all silverish was a dime! I had a huge smile and I got all excited and told lll KiRa lll. Dad was still kicking around. It really made my day and helped make the rest of the trip home a bit better. We went into subway with the intention of getting a veggie sub but they make pizza. Yes… PIZZA in a subway! $4 (taxes included) for the most delicious personalized pizza I’ve ever had.

So.. that’s it. That’s my version of the dime story. You can think what you want about me… I may be a bit nutters but it’s nice to think of my dad still around me. It’s really hard when you lose someone so close to you .. so suddenly.

ps. going to spread his ashes tomorrow so take care and give your own dad’s a bit of love eh! ❤

Karma Vixen was singing about Eminem and his band. I love playing with her! She is fantastic!!

…she knows about the dimes which is pretty sweet! I can’t believe that it has happened to someone else. So I will explain a bit of it here. If you end up thinking I’m more mental than you previously thought.. well, that’s okay!

I found my first dime a few months after my dad died. Since then I’ve been finding them sporadically throughout my daily adventures.

My mom told me that she was finding them. In places that were weird and unexpected dimes. Only dimes too. Never anything else. She would find a dime placed on the bathroom mat when she got out of the shower. There would be a dime on the ground beside her car when she stepped out. So naturally, I thought she was a bit nutters. I didn’t understand how there could be all these dimes laying around. And why would she connect it to my dad. Like, really… why would my dad be leaving dimes.

My sister-in-law said that she found one in the washing machine. Ok, not werid by itself… but then as she was pulling the clothes out, she found another one. She bent down to pick it up and *poof* all the lights in the house went off. The power was switched off just for a moment. That’s kinda freaky. Not easily explained but it happened.

Similar thing happened at my place. Julien was worried about his health and so he had started going to the gym regularly and spent a huge amount of time worrying about his health. He was looking for his running jacket when he had almost given up and I told him to grab it out of the dryer. When he opened the door… out flew a dime. Yes it was chucked out of the dryer (which, by the way…wasn’t on). He picked up the dime and closed the dryer door then told me. I laughed and said that dad was saying “hi”. At that point I still thought my mom was mourning and using dimes as a way to find peace. So I asked Julien if he found his jacket, he didn’t pull it out. So he went back to the dryer to pull it out and out comes a dime. Flew out at him. I had to believe it now. I had no choice. 2 dimes. Time to believe what mom was saying.

I went to the trusty internet and looked it up. “Dead leaving Dimes”. Google brought up some personal stories that people were sharing about their own experiences of finding dimes after someone close to them dies. The stories were unreal and so close to what we were all experiencing. I phoned my mom to tell her that other people were experiencing this too. Alright… so maybe a bit nutters but at least not alone and nuts!

I was sleeping in bed and Julien was up playing games. I woke up because I felt something freezing on my leg. It was so cold that it actually woke me up. I reached own and pulled a dime off my leg. It was stuck on me! I passed it to Julien and told him to put it aside for the morning. Of course it had to be a dime.

In March, Mom went on holiday with my aunt and a bunch of friends to Jamaica. I found a dime beside our car when Julien was dropping me off at work and it turns out that was the day mom was leaving Ontario and flying out to Jamaica. She found a dime too. In the Ontario Airport. I had no idea as I didn’t talk to her until she got back from her trip. March 3, 2010

She returned to Ontario on a Thursday. I found a dime that day.

When mom got back, she told me that she found a Canadian dime on her way home while waiting in the line at the Jamaican airport. What are the odds eh! March 11, 2010.

I was out at a beach with Julien and I was telling him how much my dad would have liked it because it’s very natural and beautiful. A lake surrounded by mountains. We drove quite a far distance to get there. It was really stunning and we were walking around enjoying the isolation and peacefulness. I was looking down cause the beach was all rocky and what should be there but a 1978 tattered old dime! Made me smile.

I was at the store buying some mushy love stuff for Julien and some scratch tickets just cause I felt like being a girl 😛 and I was paying with debit. As I picked up the bag and turned to walk out, I heard a tinker on the ground. I looked down… and of course, it was a dime. Too many dimes at this point for it to be a mere coincidence. I taped the dime on the back of my mushy card so Julien knew dad was saying hi again while I was shopping!

I was at work and I put my bag over my head (it’s a shoulder bag) and I was grabbing my coffee mug when something landed on the ground. One of my co-workers picked it up and passed it to me. It was a dime. I don’t use cash. I never have it on me. Of course they knew about the dime story so they all thought it was very cool!

Its been a couple months since I’ve found a dime. Or any money for that matter. I don’t find money. I don’t usually look but I don’t find it. It’s just not there.

As many of my loyal readers (and friends) know… I recently went on a roadtrip to Oregon and on that trip I found not 1… but 2 dimes! I wrote about the first one, and finding it on our first stop across the border. The second one was at the most amazing time.

On our way home… we were trying to avoid a very VERY slow camper so we took a couple turns on a truck route to try and get in front of it. We ended up on a one way street and didn’t realize it until we were making a “dangerous left turn” cause Vicki (GPS) was yelling at us to turn. Mistakes happen but just our luck it happened as a cop was watching so we got a hefty $283 ticket. This was on our last day of traveling. It put quite a damper on our ultimately good adventure. This was the first ticket ever. Rather disappointing. But we tried to ignore it and just think of it as part of the costs of our trip. Hmm.. that didn’t work too well. We drove for a couple hours then I was starving and really needed a coffee and trip to the bathroom, so we pulled over in some weird little hick town. There was a subway there. Perfect! First I went to one of those expresso huts to get a drink. While waiting for the girl to make it, I turned around and there on the ground in front of me… sparkling, and all silverish was a dime! I had a huge smile and I got all excited and told Julien. Dad was still kicking around. It really made my day and helped make the rest of the trip home a bit better. We went into subway with the intention of getting a veggie sub but they make pizza. Yes… PIZZA in a subway! $4 (taxes included) for the most delicious personalized pizza I’ve ever had.

So.. that’s it. That’s my version of the dime story. You can think what you want about me… I may be a bit nutters but it’s nice to think of my dad still around me. It’s really hard when you lose someone so close to you .. so suddenly.

ps. going to spread his ashes tomorrow so take care and give your own dad’s a bit of love eh! ❤

Leave a Reply

