Burlesque O.M.G.

A few years ago, I went to a burlesque show for a Performing Arts  project. It was held at the Fringe Festival in Vancouver. Fantastic show about classic fairy tales displayed with very VERY sexy dancing. I had a blast watching it! It’s similar to strippers, but more artistic and the dancers don’t get fully naked o.O

I’ve wanted to go and watch another one for a while, but I was super self-conscious as I was hugely over-weight so I couldn’t bring myself to go.  About a month ago, I met up with an old friend Constantine and he told me that he watched a few shows downtown on Sundays. Hmmm… interesting. I decided to look it up today (as I’m feeling slightly better about myself since I lost 65 pounds!). There is a place downtown Vancouver called “The Biltmore Cabaret” and on Sundays they have “Kitty Nights Burlesque“. This event is held in New York and Vancouver! Sweet 🙂 I will try to get a couple of my girl friends… and boy friends… to come out for a nite of drinking and dancing! The next show is September 5th =)

If you view the video, please consider that it’s for older audiences. Of course it’s way more entertaining in real life as well!

In the meantime, I was also looking up “Pin-up” parties. When I was out for coffee with Karen last week, she said that she did one of these and it was amazing! It’s one of my 101 Things to do in 1001 Days to do a modeling photo shoot, so I’ve been looking into photographers that have their own costumes, make-up, and hair packages in Vancouver. I have an idea of what I’m looking for, and I may have found a place! Exciting!! Perhaps I will host a Pin-up party for my birthday in November!

A couple of my friends have used  Pin-up Perfection. It looks like a lot of fun! I also found another site though Facebook called Sugar Creative, so perhaps I will check out what they can do and what they offer…and of course how much it will cost $$

The following pictures are what I’m looking for:

Pin-up Perfection Photography

Sugar Creations Photography

So ladies… and gentlemen, I would like to do this in November. If you are keen to join in the party of Pin-up Photography, let me know! I know a few ladies that are super keen 🙂

Cheers!

5 responses to “Burlesque O.M.G.

  1. oh my god. if you do this, and need people to help out with costs, i am driving down immediately! i have wanted to do a pinup shoot for frickin ever, but i’m too scared to go by myself. if you invite me i would be forever in your debt

  2. Not sure about the pin-up shoot but I’ll be there if you do the burlesque!

  3. Can.Not.Wait.Period. I’m so happy about the idea of the pin-up party (and sexy pics of me!!) that I’m drooling at the mouth. 😉

  4. I am in as long as I am not working and the roads are all good to the coast. I have been looking into this for a bit because I am actually gonna attempt to become a suicide girl as a turning 30 and losing a ton of weight sort of thing. So let me know and hopefully I will be there for the pin-up party!

  5. I totally want to do this for my birthday! I have to harass Karen to see if her brother is interested. He is a photographer on the island but I think it would be a fun (and sort of expensive) trip to make!

    …but everyone wants to feel sexy and run away some times! Plus I’m giving loads of notice so we can budge it in! 😉 The end of November is still a couple months away.

    I can’t wait!!

    …and Gina, what on earth is a suicide girl!? I kind of LOVE you… should I be concerned? 😛

Leave a Reply

