Day 5: Meme Challenge

Day 5 – A photo of yourself two years ago.

It is pretty amazing how much I have changed over the past 2 years. I finished my studies at University, got a real job, and lost about 65 pounds! In this picture from April 18, 2008 I was weighing just over 180 pounds.

April 28, 2008

My current weight ranges from 116-120. Depending on what time of the day it is and what I’ve eaten.

I was comfortable at 123 as my highest for a while, but now I like 120. I don’t want to weigh more than 120 pounds. I’m 5 feet, 4 inches tall… so it’s a good balance. I’m not too thin… and not too big. Just average.

I’ve always been over weight. I spent more than 10 years weighing just over 180 pounds! I tried everything to lose it. I tried Jenny Craig, Weight Watchers, the gym, aqua fit, changing my diet (in moderation)… EVERYTHING!

October 3, 2008

…or at least that’s what I thought before I saw a news clip focusing on a girl who lost 80 pounds doing a “raw food diet”.

I was already a vegetarian (selectarian), so I figured it would be easy enough to do. I just had to change the way I thought about food. If I ate something that was unhealthy… I got sick. I actually got physically ill (not throwing up, just a stomach ache!).

Since I was still living on campus and studying full time, I had the opportunity to be a bit lacking in energy. I would drink orange juice in the morning with a piece of fruit (usually a banana or apple), and then in the afteroon I would eat sashimi (raw fish) with a plain green salad. I didn’t eat the rice or any sauces.

I stopped eating all breads… and only ate raw foods and peanut butter. Peanut butter was my weakness. If I craved something with a bit more energy I would spread it on celery, apples, or bananas.

One of my girlfriends would eat a lot of cucumbers. That was her veggie of choice when doing this diet. She also lost about 45 pounds!

After a couple months, I slowly introduced more foods. I would eat an english muffin with egg white and cheese. No butter. I would eat salmon from cactus club with the potatoes and veggies. I also ate a few bites of treats. It took about 4 months to lose 65 pounds and I have kept it off for almost 2 years!

Now, I watch my weight. I know my body and what it needs so I don’t have more than I can handle. I do however LOVE donuts and pizza! I eat it often, but in small doses and with lots of water.

If anyone is thinking about doing a raw food diet, my only recommendation is to take vitamin supplements. You will be lacking in protein, iron, calcium,  and other important vitamins and minerals. This could result in hair loss, weak nails, discoloration of skin and eyes, and worse… so make sure you take care of yourself!

July 18, 2010

If you want more details, click on Meme Challenge to view upcoming blog topics! 🙂

3 responses to “Day 5: Meme Challenge

  1. Lol @ cucumbers… don’t know if you’re talking about me, but that’s how I did it too!! Starting again on Tuesday cause I’ve been a bad eater this last year. Wish me luck.

    p.s. you’ve *always* been a beautiful girl, no matter what your weight!

  2. maybe I was talking about you!! ^^ hehe… I don’t know anyone else who love cucumbers! Good luck with the cucumbers this year! I know you can do it 🙂

    … LOL you are funny! I think that’s sweet of you to say, but I really didn’t like the way I looked!

  3. Hey just wanted to say congratz on the weight loss not a easy thing to do !!!

Leave a Reply

