Day 8: Gaming & Giving Back Challenge

Buy a Meal for Someone

How does this keep happening? Today’s challenge is to buy someone a meal.  The challenges for “Giving Back” just keep on falling into my lap and I have no idea how or why!!!

I will start at the beginning of my day.

On my way to work, I was thinking about this task and how I was going to accomplish it. I didn’t want to buy someone sushi or Indian food because they might not like it. Pizza… no fail with pizza. I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who didn’t like pizza (unless they didn’t eat carbs!). I decided that would be a good idea. I could order a medium pizza for someone after work. lll KiRa lll said he would love it if I bought him dinner!

I actually try to put a lot of thought into these challenges because I am putting myself out there and interacting with strangers. It is a rather difficult thing to do. I can’t predict how someone else is going to respond to my “random acts of kindness”.

One of my co-workers was sick today so I was switched to the closing shift, which meant that I had an extra hour to kill before work. Typically on closing shifts I sit at the bucks and play on my computer. Today I needed to pick up some vitamins cause I am starting to get the common cold Ahhhh….

I went to the Organic Veggie store to pick up my Camu C vitamins (which are an excellent source of vitamin C). After that, I was trying to decide where to get my breakfast from. I could get a bagel from the bucks, but I didn’t really want to eat a multigram bagel with plain cream cheese. I decided on the worst place possible because I can get exactly what I wanted.

Mc Yuck.

I know… veggies shouldn’t eat there, but their breakfast isn’t terrible. I was in the line ready to order a bagel with lettuce, tomato, cheese, and the round egg (cause it’s fresher). With no butter or sauces. I figured they couldn’t mess that up. I’ve had it once before and it was decent.

The cashier was having difficulties understanding my order, and I heard a soft “excuse me”, so I turned and looked beside me. There was a young girl standing there (she had to be no more than 25 years old). She said “breakfast burrito” and I shook my head. I told her that I didn’t know anything about it as I don’t eat meat. Then she said, “no, can you buy it for me? I am hungry. I am so hungry”.

I looked at her and I was surprised. I’ve never been asked to buy someone a meal.

While I was thinking about what she was asking me… because it came out of nowhere. The cashier shouted at her and said “No. No panhandling in here.”

I looked at the cashier and told her to wait, that it was okay.

I looked at the girl and said, “of course I will buy you breakfast”. She said “2. 69, it’s 2.69. I’m so hungry.” The cashier asked if I was sure, and I told her yes, please give the girl the meal. I think it was number 6 or something. I asked her if she wanted coffee, but she said no. So I asked if she wanted orange juice, and she smiled.

She kept saying thank you, and I smiled and told her “you’re welcome”. She came out of nowhere and she was gone as soon as her meal was ready.

I was finished another challenge.

People should reach out to each other in times of need, and sometimes it takes one friendly act to impact someone’s whole day.

I really appreciate the messages and comments regarding my challenge. I am so happy that people are watching/reading how I progress through this, and I hope that by the end of it… I’ve inspired a few people to smile at a stranger, and perhaps do a kind act for someone they don’t know.

I had no idea how that happened or why. Especially on the day that my challenge is buying someone a meal. lll KiRa lll asked me if I had announced my challenge to people around here. I told him that the only people who know about it, are those who read my blog or follow me on twitter and facebook.

I told my co-workers about it, and one of them suggested that the girl who needed a meal, was an angel.

 

2 responses to “Day 8: Gaming & Giving Back Challenge

  1. Wow, that’s pretty incredible! I have a lot of thoughts about this but I’ll keep them for when I see you today 🙂

    SO awesome that you’re doing this!

  2. Wow, what a random occurrence. I’ll have to read up on your other challenges, as this one was quite interesting! I definitely will always buy someone a meal, but I’m wary to just handing out cash or coin. I’m always surprised when I’m asked for money, and I offer a meal only to be declined.

Leave a Reply

