Gaming & Giving Back Challenge: Day 13

Research an upcoming game and write a preview for it

On July 20th, 2010 it was announced that EA would be producing a new third person action game for the Xbox and PS3:

Thor

Thor is an action hero from the Marvel Comics (author Matt Fraction). Being the geek that I am, sadly I can honestly say that I haven’t read Thor comics and I don’t really know much about him. I can assume by the name that he is a rather big man? Perhaps a cave man? Simple minded? I really have no clue!

As it turns out, Thor is a God-like character. He uses a legendary hammer (the Mjölnir) and some elemental magic to kill his enemies. I was somewhat correct in my assumption 😉

According to the Sega’s initial release comments, there will be “melee combos, ranged hammer throws, tide-turning elemental powers, and an upgrade system to bolster Thor’s powers as gamers progress”. That sounds sweet! Similar to the Fable games and Dragon Age, but hopefully they will add something we haven’t seen or done yet!

It will be released on other consoles (Wii) and handheld devices (PSP, DS), but the platform and graphics will be slightly different.

The game, Thor will be released around the same time as the movie. This is still a few months away. We can’t expect anything until 2011.

Maybe I will pick up one of the comics so I feel a connection to the character during gameplay.

So far, there isn’t much more to tell you! I don’t know if it will be worth a purchase, or just a rental, but I will be playing it regardless because I know one of the people making it so I will let you know after I give it a shot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

