Gaming & Giving Back Challenge: Day 14

Smile at 15 people today. Did they smile back?

I wonder if I look like a gibbled idiot when smiling at strangers. Perhaps it is easier to say “hello” while smiling. Why on earth did I create this as one of the challenges!?

But wait. If I say “hello” to strangers, they might consider that an invitation for conversation. I don’t necessarily want to have 15 chats in one day with complete strangers. Smiles are good.

This challenge was a lot harder than I could have anticipated. In order to ensure that my smile was received, I had to look at the other person. Making eye contact with strangers and smiling is very odd.

Within the rush of morning and evening travelling, people are often watching the ground in front of themselves or chatting on their cell phones. There are not a lot of people who just look around while they are walking. I wish that I could say I am always looking around, but I’m not. I am usually texting while walking, or chatting to mom on the phone.

For the most part, people smiled back! I got a couple complements for my TokiDoki rain boots and I wished a few people a good day! If I was able to give a smile to someone, they gave one back 🙂

Leave a Reply

